Honeymoon in Europe Part 2

Welcome back to my nostalgic adventure! I hope you enjoyed the first part of this post.

In this post I’m going to talk about the time we spent in Berlin and the last few days we spent in Dublin. I want to to ahead and point out that our last few days in Dublin were not super exciting and I don’t have a lot of pictures because we didn’t really do anything touristy, but I have a few stories from the few things we did do, so I hope you enjoy those.

Onward to Berlin!


Berlin is one of my all-time favorite cities. Ever since I went in 2014, I have been dying to go back. Anthony has never been to Berlin and I was really excited for him to see a lot of the places I went to.

Our first night there, we stayed near Potsdam, and we actually arrived on a holiday so many places were closed for food. While we were in Switzerland, we didn’t eat a whole lot just because everything was so expensive. But when we got to Berlin, we found a pizza place right next to our hotel that was so unbelievably cheap and delicious, we bought two pizzas for us to enjoy (10€).


After enjoying too much pizza, we decided to walk to the nearby shopping center where there was a Christmas market. The worst part was it started to pour and hail as soon as we walked outside. However, the walk was worth it because we were able to catch this light show with music in the middle of the shopping center.


We walked around for a little while and tried to find an open store to buy water, but no luck. So we stopped at a little shop in the train station, bought some water, and walked back to the hotel to catch some sleep.

The next day, I wanted to show Anthony some of the places I visited when I was there last, so off we went! The first place I wanted to show him was the Berlin Wall Panorama. This is one of the coolest things I have ever seen, and I love the history of Berlin, so being able to see a replica of it was incredible. My grandparents would tell me stories of their time going from West to East Berlin, and my aunt was able to look over the wall to see East Berlin from West Berlin.

img_5357

I wish I had better pictures of this place, unfortunately, this is the best I can do. It’s definitely an incredible place to visit. On one side of the building they have the panorama of the Berlin Wall, with sounds playing to recreate the environment. On the other side, they have information posted along the wall, and you can even write on the walls, floors, everything! I didn’t write anything this time around, but I did two years ago. I tried to find where it was, but no luck.

The Berlin Wall Panorama was really close to Checkpoint Charlie. We decided to walk by there, and didn’t really get any pictures. The disappointing part of Checkpoint Charlie is the fact that people are trying to make money off of this historical area. We thought about going into the museum, but decided not to because it was a little pricey. So we stopped for lunch and carried on with our day.

Afterwards, we went to the Topography of Terror. It’s a museum that outlines, in great detail, the rise of Hitler and the Third Reich. I love this museum. Both times I have been, I read through everything. The last time I went, they had an outdoor exhibit on the invasion of Poland, which was incredible. This time, there wasn’t anything outside, but they had an indoor exhibit on war stories, which was fascinating.

IMG_0479

What I love about Berlin is the openness of the history. Atrocities were committed against groups of people based on their race, sexual orientation, and physical capabilities. Millions of people died. Yet, Berlin doesn’t hide it behind museum doors or within history books. It is out for everyone to see and to learn. I love that they are willing to accept their past, learn from it, and grow into a better place.

 

After the museum, we walked around Berlin a little more, just taking in the city. Berlin is definitely one of my all-time favorite cities, and I could definitely see myself going back for a longer period of time, and potentially living there. I just need to better my German!

That night we decided to go back to our hotel and relax.

The next day, I really wanted to go to the Christmas markets. Back when I was in Salzburg in 2014, we were there just in time for the Christmas markets to open, but were not able to stay long enough to enjoy them as much as I wanted to. While we were in Berlin, it was immediately after the Christmas market attack, so the security in the Christmas markets was increased tenfold.

IMG_0490

We went to this huge Christmas market, near the Fernsehturm, and it was beautiful! We walked around for about an hour, looking at booths and just enjoying the spirit of the market. We bought some delicious sausage, licorice, candied nuts, and a couple of presents for our family.

They even had a Ferris Wheel at the market, so we decided to go on it. I’m not the biggest fan of Ferris Wheels. I just don’t like being super high in the air. But, this was completely enclosed, while we sat with 6 other people, so I felt a little bit better about it.

After our time at the market, we decided to go eat. One of my favorite foods to eat while I was in Austria in 2014 was Schnitzel. I was very excited to have Schnitzel again, and we found a place that served it!

img_0491

Excuse the weird way I’m holding my utensils, I don’t really know what’s going on with my hands here.

We finally went back to our hotel and rested up for our final day in Berlin.

On our last day, we wanted to go up the Fernsehturm, but wanted to wait closer to the evening so we could see the sun set. We decided to walk around the mall for a while, buying the rest of our Christmas presents for friends and family, and then go to the tower and buy our tickets.

IMG_0481

It was crazy busy, which we expected, but we were excited to go up. We thought it would be a great way to end the trip and seal our love for Berlin.

img_0520

The view of Berlin was absolutely breathtaking. I wish I could show you a better picture, but the glass was kind of dirty, so it was hard to get a better quality image with what we were working with.

IMG_0523

We celebrated our honeymoon with two glasses of champagne and a wonderful rest of the evening.

The next day, we woke up super early and took a train back to Frankfurt Hahn airport and stayed the night before catching our plane to Dublin. We stopped in Mainz very briefly, enjoyed some lunch and the beautiful snow! I wish we had more time to enjoy Mainz and what it had to offer, but unfortunately we had to catch a bus to the airport.

img_0539

We landed in Dublin around 6pm, took a taxi to our hotel, enjoyed a couple pints of Guinness, and went to sleep!

IMG_1751

Our next few days in Dublin were pretty boring. We were pretty far from the city center, near the suburb. Our hotel was half a mile from a mall, so we decided to venture that way.

We decided to go see a movie and just spend the last couple days relaxing before having to go home and jump right into work. We decided to see Assassin’s Creed, which would have been a good movie; however, the people who sat next to us were absolutely terrible movie-goers. All three members of this family sat on their phones throughout the entire movie, with their phones at full brightness. The small child decided to turn on his flashlight every five minutes to choose what color gummy candy he wanted to eat. It was entirely frustrating and ruined the entire movie experience. We decided not to see another one.

The following day, we walked around the mall, bought some new clothes, and just relaxed some more. Then we took an Uber to a nearby shopping area and bought some snacks. The Uber driver was also pretty rude to us, basically calling us lazy for not walking to the area. Granted, we had no idea how close it was, or how to access it. We weren’t from the area, obviously, but his attitude was ridiculous. I already wasn’t happy with our time in Dublin, but this wasn’t making it any better.

Our last day, we went to the airport early, walked around, and were grateful to be on the airplane. We loved our time in Switzerland and Germany, but Ireland, most specifically in Dublin, left a sour taste in my mouth.
Next time, if we decide to go back, I think we’ll stick to the Irish country side for a day or two and move on to our next destination.

Thanks for reliving my memories with me!

Leave a Reply

